Rumi-nating – Prologue…

I have phrases and whole pages memorized,
but nothing can be told of love.
You must wait until you and I
are living together.
In the conversation we’ll have
then…be patient…then.

Falling, flailing, reaching out, fingers brushing broken roots and jutting rocks. No scream, no fear. Just wonder, observation, curiosity. Panic, a little. Then a solid catch, a body-thumping impact. Not painful, really. Awakening, definitely.

A voice calls out, but there seems to be no direction to pinpoint where it comes from. It’s loud, yet soft. Beckons, here, over here! I turn, searching still. A light! How? So far…I must have fallen for miles, surely there can’t be any light!…oh, wait! I see it. The light grows and I see where I’ve landed. No sign of footing beneath me, indeed, my feet are still without firm ground. But my grip is solid, my arms are untiring, and I’m AWAKE. I’m able to see, suddenly. Everything comes into focus as the light becomes almost blinding without being painful. I see, I hear, I feel. Warmth, love, you. You. There you are! I’ve known you from before. Beyond this life and the life before. Beyond this place and the places I’ve been before.

I realize where I am now. I’m inside of me. Explains why I was comfortable here, if a bit lost in direction. Now you’re here, suddenly. How? I don’t know. But you are and I smile. A lot. I’m glad you’re here. I never wanted anybody else to be here, if there was ever the time that I would find myself here. Surprise!! I’m here now. We’re here now. I lower myself down a bit, your light gives evidence of a narrow ledge that leads in many directions. Too many to count. Only one is solid enough to support me, so I take one step. Then two. I let go of the root that suspended my downward journey. Without looking back, I quicken my pace. Then you ask me a question, one that I hear inside of me, walking inside of me, who is standing inside of the outside. When? A simple word, a short question, yet I cannot answer. I only say Today. Today is all I know. I learned from Yesterday, and Yesterday before that. But I only really, truly know Today. And that’s how I answer. Short answer, simple concept. Complete stranger of an answer, though. Today.

You smile and take my hand and we’re off again. Running this time. Where? Home.

~ by kyodan75 on September 20, 2012.

Share your Thoughts

 
