Checks and Balances…

We the People of the United States, in Order to form a more perfect Union, establish Justice, insure domestic Tranquility, provide for the common defence, promote the general Welfare, and secure the Blessings of Liberty to ourselves and our Posterity, do ordain and establish this Constitution for the United States of America. -Preamble to the Constitution

Okay, so you know by now, that I am not happy with our Government.  In fact, a lot of our nation’s citizens are not happy with the Government.  You see protests and demonstrations for a myriad of reasons, including those that are championing the vision that our founding fathers had for this great nation.  I want to emphasize that the majority, myself included, love this nation.  I do.  But I’m fed up with people who are uninformed or don’t do a little research into how and why our government operates the way it does.

In Article I, Section II and the 17th Amendment to the Constitution, the means by which our representatives and senators are elected is by the people.  That means that we the People have deemed these people worthy of our trust and support to lead this nation and to set forth the policies which are in the best interest of the Nation.  So, when I hear people complain about the Government, blaming it for policies that are unheeding to its electing populace, I get a little irked.  The Government is not some inanimate object doing these things of its own volition.  The Government is made up of those elected officials that we the People put into office.  They are the officers who have petitioned us for our support to have them represent us in office.  I know that I, early on in my voting life, often was swayed by my political affiliation without fully knowing, much less understanding, what my government representatives were all about.  Let me tell you this.  For the last eleven years, I have decided that I am an independent.  Not Independent, uppercase “I”; lowercase “i”, independent.  Although I agree with much of the platform of the Independent Party, I still harbor enough disagreement with it to not “officially” decide that I’m going to be an Independent.  I won’t go into a platform discussion, because my political viewpoint is not important for this particular article.  Suffice to say, I do NOT agree with bipartisan politics.

Let me caveat everything that will follow with this:  I don’t profess to know a lot about politics, I don’t have formal education in it, and I am doing a broad generalization of the American voter in this article.  I do know that there are quite a few voters in this country who do the research and follow their political officers closely enough to understand what they are supporting by voting.  I will state this here, though:  I believe the majority DO NOT.  How many people honestly knew and understood what President Obama’s platform was when they voted?  I venture less than a third of his supporters.  Yell blasphemy at my words, but I saw enough of the young populace, when polled on several different surveys, news channels, and talk shows to know that it was the “popular” thing at the time to vote for Obama.  Even those voters in my age group did so.  Well, let me tell you, inexperience is not change.  It’s political Russian Roulette.

The Government, I believe, has lost sight of the “of the People, by the People, and for the People” foundation that our founding fathers had in mind when they drafted and framed the Constitution.  They knew that it was not all-encompassing of the form of government they were emplacing, which is why we can amend the Constitution.  However, what was put forth in that document was the foundation of our government.  And our government, over the centuries since its ratification, has slowly undermined that wisdom and advice, moulding it to fit the visions of those in office.  Whether it was Republican or Democrat in office as President of the United States, ALL have done their own editing and contextual spin to form it to their viewpoint.  Not that we don’t, as a rule, but it is more critical that the Government keep the letter of its intent intact when crafting policy.  Why?  Because that is what forms our nation’s laws and policies!  Every citizen is a barbershop lawyer, unless they have formal education in the process of politics.  This article is, I won’t hesitate to say it, also barbershop interpretation although I try hard to research and understand what I am talking about.

So, where does that leave us, the voting citizens of this great nation?  It is our responsibility to put into office, those checks and balances that would serve our nation and govern with an even hand on our policies and laws crafted up through the office of the President of the United States.  I’ve said before that the founding fathers never intended for career politicians to sit in our elected offices but, rather, serve and return to the voting populace.  In this manner, the views and opinions of the voting populace -read, YOU and ME- in the forefront of policy-making processes in the elected seats of our cities, counties, states, and nation.  I firmly believe in that concept.  If you have a politician who has been an elected official their entire career, you cannot expect them to not become swayed and altered by the very nature of political platform.  In the course of serving as career politicians, it is only natural that a person becomes conformed to their political party views, no matter that the citizen becomes lost in the official’s constituency.  When an official loses sight of the fact that the support that got him there was from other individual persons, whether acting as an organized group or not, they fall in danger of becoming tyrants.  Interpret that as you may, in its various definitions, it is true.  A tyrant rules with little or no regard for the long-term (or short-term) effects on the populace.  In our country, the populace IS the nation, not the other way around.

Why don’t I agree with bipartisan politics?  Because it’s only one more option than what the Communists and other tyrannical governments in the past and present, have offered their populace.  Why are there currently no Independent seats in the House of Representatives and, to my knowledge, only TWO in the Senate?  The Independent Party is just an example for this argument, so insert your own non-Democrat or non-Republican party here.  But you understand what I am getting at, right?  Why not make an equal amount of seats available to ALL parties that desire to have their platform forwarded in our political process?  Why do the two Independent senators caucus with the Democrats?  Are their views and agendas so close in matching that they feel the Democrat Party is a viable vehicle for getting their political views and bills addressed?  If so, are they truly Independent?  I don’t know.  But, if so, then they should just call themselves Democrats because I don’t see them lobbying to have more Independent seats available by grouping themselves with the Democrats.

This isn’t a jab at any particular party, okay?  I’m merely stating that the Democrats, Republicans, Green, Independent, and any other party platform out there, should at least be given fair share of the seats.  If that’s not ever going to happen, and I don’t see where it will ever happen, then put a limit to the length a citizen can serve as a politician.  America, don’t throw up your hands in defeat and become entrenched in the idea that it cannot change.  It can, but it takes a lot of work, understanding, and cross-platform cooperation to make the change.  Do your part, get to really know and understand what it is your elected officials are about, and vote responsibly.  That’s all I ask.  I promise to do my part.

Democracy is when the indigent, and not the men of property, are the rulers. -Aristotle

Always vote for principle, though you may vote alone, and you may cherish the sweetest reflection that your vote is never lost. -John Quincy Adams

So long as we have enough people in this country willing to fight for their rights, we’ll be called a democracy. -Roger Nash Baldwin

~ by kyodan75 on May 25, 2010.

Share your Thoughts

 
