Enter stage right…

I’ve been really tossing around the idea of getting rid of my Facebook page and going forward with a blog.  This is the second time I’ve started a blog and I hope that this one works better than the last one.  There was so much crap associated with the other site, that I ended up losing interest and then closing the blog.  I did a lot of research and found that WordPress seems to be the number one choice for beginners and experts alike.

I think that the better part of valor for my current status of being deployed to Iraq is that I will end up keeping the Facebook page and also blogging here.  There are a great many things that happen on my team’s daily missions into the city of Mosul, yet none that I want to post on Facebook, which limits the number of people, at a time, that I can send it to, so I end up cutting and pasting several times to send it out to my nearly 300 FB contacts.  Combined with a slow internet connection, the whole process can be a time-consuming chore and a headache as well.

The blog name will change with time and circumstances.  The term randomosity, which I thought I had made up combining the words “random” and “curiosity” (or “random” and “animosity” as those that know that I have a temper can attest to).  It appears that there are a few others out there in the blogging world that have used it, but they probably have their own reasons.  Is it a real word?  I don’t know or care.  It sounds funny, if amateurish, and I like it.  So there.

The next entry will be the first of as many interesting, thought-provoking, soul-searching, and random interests that I will try to keep up with here.  I don’t always have the time or energy to be creative but I’ll do my best.  I write this right now, because today is an office day, with no missions planned for the team.  Therefore, I have nothing but time on my hands since no missions means no paperwork.  I try to not bring my laptop to work when I can avoid it, as it is a distractor and I tend to slack off on the tasks that I should be getting done.  However, today’s schedule is open and I am liking, already, the ease of posting things on WordPress!  Kudos to you, WordPress, for making this a quick and painless process for clumsy posters as myself.

Okay, well, introductions are over and reasons for posting are explained so I will wrap this one up.  Thanks for being interested in my boring life and I hope you are not disappointed by future posts!  Stick around long enough, and I’ll even post photos and videos when I can.  Have a good one!

~ by kyodan75 on December 8, 2009.

One Response to “Enter stage right…”

  1. Looking forward to hearing more. I know your family misses you very much but know that you are appreciated for your service and for the love you send to your family!!! You were made for great things!

Share your Thoughts

 
